40. The atheist extremists league

The atheist extremists league were officially called the Guardians Of Deity-free Society though for obvious acronymical reasons they never wholly adopted that moniker in public. The group first caught the public’s attention with their ‘Die, fidel, die’ campaign in the early sixties, a needlessly confusing name that according to recently declassified documents played no small part in Fidel Castro granting permission to station Soviet rockets on Cuba.

 

cover

Read the rest of the tale and 100 more stories in 300 words or less in YOU’RE GETTING SLEEPY, THE HYPNOTIST’S APPRENTICE YAWNED.

Available at the Createspace Store, at amazon.com, amazon.co.uk or any other Amazon store in your territory.  E-book is also available.

Tagged , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “40. The atheist extremists league

  1. Hahahaha…this is too rich! The best of the best so far. What a really ticklish way to grace another day.
    I too wish them the best! A sorry bunch of confused useless mass. I love the subtle wit of this one.

  2. rosellezubey says:

    I don’t know if I was half awake but I really found this story confusing. I wasn’t sure if it was fact or fiction. Even when I saw the alternative history tag I wasn’t sure. Maybe I was taking something out of context, like if this was just part of a story. Maybe things would be better if you had characters to root for or against. I’m just really lost with your story.

    • It’s most definitely a fiction. The story was more or less conceived as a fake magazine article. So if you were confused by the blurring of fact and fiction, I take that as a compliment! 🙂

      • rosellezubey says:

        I’m glad, dieter. I really don’t like to criticize my fellow writers because I know all the hard work that goes into a writing project. I’m also glad that it’s a fiction because I’m a devout Catholic Christian so religion is very important to me. It’s really good that you kept people like me guessing with your story.

  3. Ryan says:

    Said it once (maybe more than once, I am not sure) but I will say it again, I love your work.

    • You can say it as many times as you want, I’ll never tire of hearing it 😉 And I’ll try the utmost to keep you entertained for months to come because if my readers are happy, then I am happy.

  4. […] From 300 Stories this week, a short piece about the troubles that a militant atheist group has over the decades trying to get its message […]

Leave a Reply

