76. His writer’s block was 13 inches high

His writer’s block was 13 inches high, 7 deep and 9 wide. Made from grade A concrete. It sat on his desk, in close proximity to his typewriter. The writer had once tried to lift it, but it had been too heavy. In fact, he was surprised the desk could hold the thing. And yet, there it was.

 

cover

Read the rest of the tale and 100 more stories in 300 words or less in YOU’RE GETTING SLEEPY, THE HYPNOTIST’S APPRENTICE YAWNED.

Available at the Createspace Store, at amazon.com, amazon.co.uk or any other Amazon store in your territory.  E-book is also available.

Tagged , , , ,

17 thoughts on “76. His writer’s block was 13 inches high

  1. wordsbyannierose says:

    This is so fantastic! The opening image is brilliant. There is a quote, from Hemingway I think, that goes, ‘Writing is easy. You just open a vein and bleed.’ Your blog reminded me of this.

    • Hemingway was in fact a huge inspiration to start this blog. When I first read the micro-fiction story he himself called his finest work, I was blown away by what you can tell by just a few words. You’ll probably know it. It goes: “For sale. Baby shoes. Never worn.”

      • wordsbyannierose says:

        I hadn’t heard it before, that’s so great. I’m really inspired by American writers like Annie Proulx and John Steinbeck, they have the same aesthetic of saying a lot with very minimal and stark language. Very inspiring stuff!

  2. acflory says:

    I started reading because of the title but I’m still thinking about this very short story because of the ending. Bravo. 🙂

  3. I’m the type to comment, excuse me if I seem to say the same things over and over. I love the way you write. It’s concise and easy, yet packed with weight and clarity. Whimsical, engaging…I love it as always.

    I was not expecting the writer’s block to be an actual block. hahaha, hooked from the start.

  4. Chilling like a real good thriller should read 🙂 Awesome!

  5. rosellezubey says:

    I really like how you always end your stories with a twist. There is an old science fiction show called “The Twilight Zone” that also ended its episodes that way. That is awesome writing to me. Keep up the great work!

  6. Julian Neuer says:

    Celsius or Fahrenheit? Not that it is relevant. This is your best so far, in my opinion.

  7. DCTdesigns says:

    I am commenting because I can’t like this a zillion times. Genius!

  8. b00kreader says:

    Didn’t see that one coming, but I never do with your stories. I loved the offhand comment about the temperature priceless slide of hand!

  9. […] 10. 300 Stories – Another story a day dude who I read and enjoy. Here’s one of his latest, which I loved. […]

  10. linh nguyen says:

    Sorry but could anybody tell me what is the meaning of the ending? Thanks in advance!

    • linh nguyen says:

      Is this story about the pressure of creating a piece of work? Does the ending imply that the author has a lot of ideas in mind and wants to pour them out but finds it hard to convey through words? I would be really appreciated if anybody can explain all to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

