91. The Sunday visit to mom

The Sunday visit to mom is always a bit of an ordeal, but today takes the cake. She’s grumpy, annoyed, no fun at all. Looking for trouble it seems. And she finds it the moment she soaks the cookie in an afternoon tea that might as well have been venom.

Apparently she blames me for the divorce, now three years ago. I should have noticed dad was philandering. I neglected to warn her about it. If I had he wouldn’t have been able to siphon off most of their savings before abandoning her.

I try to steer the conversation to something more cheery, her upcoming birthday. It doesn’t work. She rants, sobs, weeps, swallows her words, then starts ranting again. The cuckoo religious overtones in her tirade are new this time. Me and my sister have jokingly discussed about dumping her in the loony bin before. Suddenly I’m thinking that might not be such an outlandish prospect after all.

I had vowed not to get sucked into her rants any more but I can’t help it. I am brutally honest with her and tell her that her anger will leave her lonely and isolated. She’s alienated most of her friends and family already and, at this pace, she’ll lose both me and my sis as well. I say lots of stuff I wish I could take back. I purposely hurt her. Then she does the same to me. When the dust has settled we watch TV for an hour without saying a word.

As I head home again mom hugs me for what seems like minutes.

“I’ll see you next Sunday?” she asks.

I nod.

She’s insufferable. But she is my mom.

 

cover

Did you enjoy this story? Then why not try the 101 stories in 300 words or less in YOU’RE GETTING SLEEPY, THE HYPNOTIST’S APPRENTICE YAWNED.

Available at the Createspace Store, at amazon.com, amazon.co.uk or any other Amazon store in your territory.  E-book is also available.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “91. The Sunday visit to mom

  1. trees7861 says:

    I was about to write a short one about a mother and daughter friendship — but will save it for later. I will savor this one first. LOLs =)

  2. braon says:

    interesting… fiction or biography?

  3. seniledenial says:

    Thanks for the follow. I like the idea of flash fiction. I will look forward to reading.

  4. hugmamma says:

    I had a mom like that. She died some time ago. It was better that I’d moved away from the islands, where I’d been born and raised. to Seattle where I’ve lived the last 15 years. Otherwise, my mom would’ve worn me down for sure. You are more resilient, but then again your mom’s still with you and you’re able to visit regularly. As they say…”practice makes perfect.” Seems you’ve perfected your relationship with your mum…or at least it’s as near as you can get it. 🙂

  5. S.R. Tooms says:

    Too real not to be true, I suspect! 😛

    Good ol’ ma’s — gotta love ’em!

  6. Artrell says:

    Stay iniftmarove, San Diego, yeah boy!

Leave a Reply

