95. The difference in appearance was so striking

The difference in appearance was so striking that Zhi-yi had always assumed she wasn’t blood-related to her siblings. She had wanted to ask her parents if she was adopted for a long time but it took her sixteenth birthday to actually bring up the nerve.

“I’m adopted, aren’t I?” she blurted out after the first bite of the cake.

Her parents exchanged glances. They had seen this coming.

“We love you just as much as Han and Jun-Hui,” her dad said.

“I never suggested anything else,” Zhi-yi replied. “But I have none of your DNA?”

Her mom shook her head.

“We should have told you earlier. You have a right to know.”

“Did you know my real parents?”

“That’s  not a straightforward question to answer.”

“Did you ever meet them face-to-face? Do you know where they live?”

“No.”

“What if I wanted to meet them? Could I call an agency? I assume you worked with an agency…”

“Strict anonymity was a condition.”

“So I will never know my real parents?”

We are your real parents,” her mother pleaded, crying.

Zhi-yi realised she had been insensitive. They were her real parents: kind, loving, respectful, warm, supportive. Anything she could wish for. She put the cake to the side and gave them both a big hug. She didn’t cry. In her whole life she never had.

An hour later, when Zhi-yi had gone over to her boyfriend’s house, her parents debated the issue.

“Do you think she’ll keep asking questions?”

“She won’t. They told us this might happen and we followed their manual to the T.”

“But what if she does?”

“Then we’ll return her to the factory. Technology has come a long way in the past fourteen years. Apparently they can safely reboot now.”

 

cover

Did you enjoy this story? Then why not try the 101 stories in 300 words or less in YOU’RE GETTING SLEEPY, THE HYPNOTIST’S APPRENTICE YAWNED.

Available at the Createspace Store, at amazon.com, amazon.co.uk or any other Amazon store in your territory.  E-book is also available.

Tagged , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “95. The difference in appearance was so striking

  1. Angela Death says:

    Love the twist at the end!

  2. howanxious says:

    Oh… now that was a nice twist.

  3. Tee Palileo says:

    that got me! never expected that…. very nice! 🙂

  4. WOW, I was fooled up to the last sentence LOL 🙂

  5. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's New (to me) Authors Blog and commented:
    This is a shining example of how to fool the reader up to the last sentence – DON’T YOU DARE CHEAT – READ IT THROUGH 🙂

  6. A clever sting in the tale here!

  7. Late Summer says:

    I always love the twists you add in. They always keep me guessing.

  8. That’s just brilliant. Love it.

  9. rosellezubey says:

    I know I always keep saying the same thing in my comments. I love the twists in your stories. You never know what to expect. I think that’s a good thing in stories since it keeps people interested. Great job as always.

  10. That’s awesome, so unexpected

  11. OH wow….LOL. Oh damn. Okay, you make me want to step up my fiction.

  12. Iona Nerissa says:

    Brilliant ending! Always enjoy your stories.

  13. rsjeffrey says:

    I am a sucker for these kinds of stories! In fact, the latest post on my blog talks a little about the ‘fembot’ character in fiction – great fun!

  14. Pendryw says:

    Clever and original stuff. Really enjoyed this and the mole train one. Thanks for visiting me at Pendryw too.

  15. elisha121 says:

    Great ending!!!! Would love to see a follow-up story where the parents debate between rebooting her and potentially losing her personality, memories and experiences, or working through her realization with her. Could be some interesting ethic issues in there.

  16. girlwiththehankie says:

    Woah! The word ‘reboot’ ends it perfectly.

Leave a Reply

