96. You crave the numbness the alcohol provides

You crave the numbness the alcohol provides. How it washes away the bitter taste of failure you’ve grown so accustomed to. The way it fogs your already erratic judgement.

You desire the sense of slow-motion that gives you time to take a breath.

 

cover

Read the rest of the tale and 100 more stories in 300 words or less in YOU’RE GETTING SLEEPY, THE HYPNOTIST’S APPRENTICE YAWNED.

Available at the Createspace Store, at amazon.com, amazon.co.uk or any other Amazon store in your territory.  E-book is also available.

Tagged , , , , , ,

22 thoughts on “96. You crave the numbness the alcohol provides

  1. tom says:

    I have loved all of your stories thus far. I added them to Google+ and FB. You’re doing great work. Keep it up!

  2. Brieuse Bernhard Piers-Gûdmönd says:

    Constantly good. I’m constantly scrambling to aspire (and inspired by) your flash fiction. Now I must have another drink and try to write another story. Thanks for the great variety of stories you create and challenge me with!

  3. idiotwriter says:

    Epic writing! You grasp so well the senses of the mind.

  4. adjpants says:

    These just keep getting better and better! You’re an inspiration.

  5. Late Summer says:

    I wondered if your character in this was a writer. It reminds me of the Ernest Hemingway quote “Write drunk; edit sober.” I’m constantly inspired by your stories. Keep up the good work 🙂

  6. YEs. This is poignant and comes from a great truth. I appreciate it.

  7. keithecho says:

    Adab, adab.

  8. Frances D says:

    One of your best ever.

  9. sarahhegger says:

    Beautifully put

  10. Julian Neuer says:

    Your best so far. You keep getting better and better. Congratulations.

  11. twtellstales says:

    I just found your blog due to you following me and liking my first post – (thank you SO much, by the way!) and your stories are amazing! Simple, yet so effective.

  12. Laura Hart says:

    This is beautifully written, I can tell that you are a practiced and skilled writer. Writing in the second person is difficult. When I was working for Leapfrog Printing Press, we would almost always turn down author’s who wrote in the second person, because it’s hard to remain in the correct tense. I think that you make it clear that you are one of the writers who is able to capture this point of view. However, I’d be careful of the subject matter when you write in second person; that is, you have created this character – who is actually supposed to be me, the reader – that is an alcoholic. Alcoholism, especially the part where you are, you know, actually intoxicated, is supposed to create this altered sense of reality. For someone who is “drunk” I feel pretty self-actualized in this piece. If I was actually intoxicated and thinking about my writing, I still do not think I could process things so clearly. Perhaps this particular story would work best in the third person, so you can relay these moments of clarity while your reader is more distanced from the mind of the character.

    Just a couple thoughts! Good work.

    • I agree with you that writing in the second person isn’t the most easy thing to do and in longer stories it hardly ever works. But in flash fiction it works a treat, given the right subject matter. For me, this particular story would not have worked in either first or third person. I wrote it this way because alcohol thrusts you into a kind of twilight zone, where you are neither yourself nor someone looking at you. You are both in the moment and watching from a distance. Second person captures this state of mind perfectly, I think.

  13. toconnell88 says:

    Excellent. Poignant and direct. I love your stuff.

  14. Haha…the last line is the best. :0) Pleasure to meet you and what a clever outfit you have here, Dieter. Being a photographer (and a writer) but more of a photographer, I’m used to running in circles where people are doing the “365” (one picture a day) so it’s neat to see another take on it. I’ve never seen anyone do it with writing before- very cool. You’re really good at it! I appreciate that you don’t use lace and frills- you add the necessary stuff (albeit interesting) but get right to the meat and potatoes- injected with a twist of humour. And I’m a meat and potatoes gal. :0)

  15. Lee Roy says:

    Hahaha, hittin’ close to home! 🙂
    “The world’s greatest writers are all drunks and fighters.” ~Mighty Mighty Bosstones

  16. Kedar says:

    Wonderfully written. Loved it!

Leave a Reply

