209. I have no-one to play with and that is nonsense

“I have no-one to play with and that is nonsense,” Ellie says, jumping onto the bed.

It isn’t all that nonsensical to her mother, as it is half past two at night.

“Why do you want someone to play with? You should be sleeping, honey.”

“Because it is nonsense. Total, utter nonsense. I have no-one to play with! No-one! To play with!”

She seems genuinely baffled.

“What happened to Doug?”

 

cover

Read the rest of the tale and 100 more stories in 300 words or less in YOU’RE GETTING SLEEPY, THE HYPNOTIST’S APPRENTICE YAWNED.

Available at the Createspace Store, at amazon.com, amazon.co.uk or any other Amazon store in your territory.  E-book is also available.

Tagged , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “209. I have no-one to play with and that is nonsense

  1. YEP – that just about sums up Parenthood LOL 😀

  2. William says:

    Kudos to Ben. That’s exactly how I would have responded.

  3. dansandman says:

    Thanks for finding my James Bond review! Well written short story.

  4. kellygrow says:

    That is nonsense! Funny, good nonsense. 🙂

  5. hitwyla says:

    I love your writing! What fun your brain has.

  6. hehehe Nice. Fun to read something enjoyable. Really sums up my life as a parent sometimes. Nonsense. ^_^

  7. dannigrrl says:

    Thanks for the follow on my blog! This story is adorable. My daughter (an only child) had an imaginary brother and sister for YEARS. Nicely done. 🙂

  8. R.J. Koehn says:

    So, you must have kids too. This just happened two nights ago with my 4 year old. Only it wasn’t Doug…it was Paper, a blue bear. He isn’t imaginary though. He’s a bean bag.

  9. I love it! Wonderful capture of childhood. Congratulations.

  10. Sarah Ann says:

    Very funny and enjoyable. Not sure that Dad should be encouraged in his dealings with Dough though.

Leave a Reply

