219. Being born on the cobbled streets

Being born on the cobbled streets of Potter’s Hill to a mother shunned by society, who in turn shunned him, the sisters of the workhouse named the boy Toby Cobblepot and for twelve years raised him like every other orphan in their care: on gruel and cruelty.

 

cover

Read the rest of the tale and 100 more stories in 300 words or less in YOU’RE GETTING SLEEPY, THE HYPNOTIST’S APPRENTICE YAWNED.

Available at the Createspace Store, at amazon.com, amazon.co.uk or any other Amazon store in your territory.  E-book is also available.

Tagged , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “219. Being born on the cobbled streets

  1. Nwunye says:

    Can I just say, the first paragraph made me click! Well done.

  2. William says:

    Is this…is this an origin story for The Penguin??

  3. rockyfort says:

    You cobbled together an interesting story! 😉

  4. rockyfort says:

    Reblogged this on Ice Cream Castles in the Air and commented:
    I am finding it amazing how many interesting stories you can tell in just a few words. This story has it all: Cruelty, Death, Greed and Murder. Oh…and shoes. Gotta have the shoes!

  5. Frances D says:

    Kind of new take on David Copperfield 😉

  6. Sarah Ann says:

    Very clever and fun. And Toby struck me as such a nice boy at the outset. Oh well, I suppose that’s what the workhouse does to a boy.

  7. Gina says:

    wow, very nice twist/ending!

  8. Wow, you’re getting toward that magic number, and fast! Pardon the fact that I haven’t read your stories in awhile, but I do recall back when you were still under one hundred. I’ve been busy with my own writing, but returning to read your work and seeing how far you’ve gotten has been an inspiration. You’ve changed a little as a writer, too, I see. Way to keep it up!

    • I’m curious: how do you feel I have changed as a writer?

      • In my opinion, a mostly philosophical shift.

        Well, let’s say, looking at the android plot twist at the end of number seven. Now, that’s something to consider, simply and merely as a plot twist–a shift in perspective that provides its own meaning: that is, without considering it as an analogy for something else.

        Comparing that to the deeper, more philosophical implications of a piece like two-hundred-twelve: that steel alloy bit. That’s something that brings into question the very nature of political economics–something that turns from a minute-long consideration of an android-driven society, to a much longer pondering of how small actions of large-scale companies shape human history.

  9. reidaugust21 says:

    Wow. I’ll be completely honest, this is the first of your works that I’ve read and you have completely inspired me. I admire your style.

  10. joyoftiff says:

    I’m new to reading your blog, but I got to say I am really enjoying it. You are a great writer.

Leave a Reply

