Would you buy a 300 Stories book?

No new story today. Instead: a question. Or rather: a couple…

Since I’m now only 60 stories removed from my 300 stories target, the question of what to do with these tales after I finish my mission has been on my mind of late. Of course, publication in book form would be the logical next step. But what kind of book? One in which I’ve edited the stories a bit more thoroughly, that’s a given. But should I publish it in print? As an e-book? Both? And how many stories should it contain? The lot? Or just the cream of the crop?

So here’s my question to you, my beloved readers. Would you be interested in buying a copy of 300 Stories should I indeed publish it? And if so, do you prefer paperback or e-book? One with all the stories or a selection of the best?

Feel free to sound off in the comments…

44 thoughts on “Would you buy a 300 Stories book?

  1. I was late to the 300 stories, but loved both the concept and execution! My brief response to your questions:

    1. Definitely convert them into a book
    2. Make it available on both formats, print and ebook. Createspace makes this really easy for you, as does Amazon.
    3. Have a selection of the stories. You can easily see the most popular (in a sense, people have been voting on the stories with their Likes and shares), but also use your discretion.
    4. You have already done both the hard work of getting people to know about you and your work (ie marketing/publicity) and writing the stories. If you need any (free) assistance, though, feel free to contact me after Sunday. I loved the blog, and would be happy to help in any small way that I can. You can find me on Twitter on nicholas_rossis as well as on a number of other social media.

    Hope this helps!

  2. Bruce Goodman says:

    They’re already considered as published – by being made available to the public. No I wouldn’t buy the book. I’ve already read them. In my opinion, there’s no reason to re-publish. (Sorry to sound like a wet squib but that’s the reality).

  3. I was late in finding your blog, but as I have read quite a lot of the stories I wouldnt buy a book.

    But, I think that you should publish them as both paperback and e-book, you will get different sets of clientale. You should publish all of them since you’ve woerked hard to write them.You could title your book something like “300 flash reading stories” or “flash reading in 300 stories”. or just “300 flash stories”

    Good luck

  4. aliabbasali says:

    I’m with Nicholas on the formats, there’s a guide on how to navigate the process for free on my blog. My experience has been that this is not a commercial endeavour, especially as Bruce notes that the stories are technically published. However there is a huge personal satisfaction in holding your own book (or giving a copy to the kids to take into show and tell at school), so do it, but for yourself.

    Would I buy? Yes, all 300 as an eBook as long as the price was not prohibitive, my house is overrun by books so buying print is now a treat. For me it would be a dip in and out book, rather than plough through in one sitting. FWIW my ebooks have outsold print by 5:1

    In print the minimum cost/ price on Createspace is determined by the number of pages. So I suspect you would need to edit down by to a third or so. At 100 pages my hajj journal is £3/$5, which frankly is too high to entice a casual reader to buy, but about low as I could get it.

    The best thing is that I can complain at dinner parties that I need withholding tax back from the US government. About £4.50.

  5. MoreThanACat says:

    I’d go with the publishing option. You would get to a different readership than the blog. I sell more on ebook, but there’s a steady trickle of people who buy a “real” (paper) book. So: I wouldn’t ignore that market either. Do some good research on prices though 🙂

  6. ebreman says:

    Interesting question and as commented by the others it is one that begs another… What do you want? Do you want to use this as a money making endeavor? Or is it for a personal reason (to hold the book – your book – in your hand). I think that is what you need to find out first before even considering publishing it or not as print or ebook version.
    I think that if its already online it will be hard to get many people to buy it, but whatever you do good luck and do what you feel like.

  7. eBook would be favourite for me, but you’d need to remove them from your blog to avoid the Amazon KDP condition that they are not available anywhere else 🙂

  8. Geoffrey says:

    I’d consider buying a book. It should include 300 stories, even if you substitute a few you don’t like as much with others, that way there’s some original content just for the book and you can still cut what you don’t want to include. A physical book is more likely to be read by people who haven’t already read your work on the blog.

  9. mikemonaco says:

    Not sure I’d buy a copy for myself but it would definitely be something I’d buy as a gift in print format. Just try to make sure it doesn’t look like the crap most self-publishers put out with terrible layout/format inside that someone might have made in WordPerfect 20 years ago, and a stock image centered between two black bars on the cover. Maybe try a more traditional publisher. I’m a librarian, I handle new books all day, and way too many self-published books look slip-shod and thoughtlessly laid out, which puts readers off.

  10. Tom Cummings says:

    300 stories in the one-a-day format has been delightful, but 300 stories in a single edition (print or e-book) seems daunting. So, I would go for a streamlined edition, perhaps your 100 favorites. I also think a print edition would benefit from some kind of special format – perhaps illustrations to accompany the stories. Whatever you decide, good luck – and keep writing!

  11. I don’t have great advice on the “to publish or not to publish” question, but I agree with Nicholas that you’ve done a lot of the hard work forming relationships. You might have success with a lecture tour in which you describe your experience with the 300 stories and how you found the creative energy and commitment to complete the project (in which case having a print collection to sell wouldn’t be a bad idea).

  12. -Both formats (if only one, paperback because they are already online)
    -I like the lecture tour idea, maybe teach a workshop for young adults about writing?
    -Maybe have several books, each of a different category of stories (definitely publish all of them).
    -You could call the book something like “300 Stories: flash fiction adventures”

  13. syl65 says:

    I would definitely be interested. Go with both formats. All stories included. It would be awesome. I hope you go for it and I also hope you another 300 stories.

  14. jimmie g says:

    I’d buy the book in either format as well. What if you take the lecture idea to the web? 300 stories as a daily prompt site/teaching tool. Advice on being succinct, dialogue tagging, etc. It can be another community for aspiring writers to gather.
    I dig your work and look forward to your next writing adventure.

  15. elmerfgantry says:

    I think you would have plenty of buyers. The real question is what are you going to do after you’re done writing the stories?

  16. Ellen Morris Prewitt says:

    For me, one of the appeals of this venture was the daily arrival. If you undertook another 300 series, I would pay to receive the daily story, so you could consider a paid subscribed service. If the last thing you want to do is to write more stories, and you’ve crossed the “already out there hurdle”, then my recommendation would be to release them in small batches in e-format for which you sell quite cheaply.Your current readers, if they’re like me, would encourage others to buy the stories, give you glowing reviews, etc. Good luck with your decision.

    • mikemonaco says:

      Yes, you could try using Patreon or something like that to do a pay-for-posts thing too, if you have the energy/will/drive to do another series of stories. Or a serial. I’ve seen a number of bloggers go that route when they’ve realized the amount of time they’re devoting to blogging is impinging on their paying work.

  17. stephswint says:

    I think to make it something different and enticing to your following you could expand on the stories written and make it into multiple books. I understand this is making more work for yourself but I think it would entice those following your blog to want to purchase it for the extra tidbits, also I think the longer stories (more fleshed out stories) would be appealing to show your range of work to a publisher if you decided to go that route. That way your blog continues. The published pieces don’t feel like something your reader base can ignore because there is new content, and it makes it fresh and new. These are just some thoughts

  18. YES, I would buy your 300 stories book. I think you should make it available in both ebook (because that’s what people seem to prefer these days) and paperback(because that’s what I would buy). And you should do all 300 of them. I’ve followed you for a little while, so I’ve read most of them, but I love them so much, so I’d buy the book and re-read them all over again 🙂

  19. W. K. Tucker says:

    I think I would publish both formats. I know they have all been on your blog–which by the way, I have enjoyed very much–but there’s a vast number of people who have never seen them, never heard of them. I think they should have that opportunity. And I agree with Tom Cummings above: I would cut them down to 100 of your best.
    And this is just a thought: you might think about conducting a vote of your readers’ favorite stories, maybe their top 50. That would give you some insight as to which stories to include.
    I would buy it, preferably in print form. Though I buy a lot more ebooks than print, the special ones I want as a print copy. Good luck!
    Kathy

  20. I believe a selected set of stories would be more appealing to me as a reader. There is always room for a “director’s cut” so-to-speak if it takes off down the road. The number of which could be flexible, but my personal benchmark would be half.

    Other writers publishing in an e-book only format have told me they’ve received a significant amount of interest in paperback editions. It would probably be worthwhile to have a small amount of physical books to satisfy that demand.

  21. Ruth2Day says:

    Yes I would buy it. I’m moving towards e-book format, so that would be best for me.

  22. Do it! Having them all in one place would be nice.
    I’d buy one!
    As to the question of ebook or paperback, my vote is with all the both-ers.

  23. sweetyshinde says:

    how many pages long? broken into trilogy or clubbed into one book?

  24. You want to publish these 300 stories?
    Then alter them a bit, expand them. Add a little twist in their plots.
    And then it should be enough for both your blog followers and new readers.
    As far as format, I’ll say make a ebook

  25. landl30 says:

    I’ve only seen last month or two, but really liked them. I’d go for the whole 300… as that sets up a kind of bar that makes the whole project interesting.
    I’m doing something similar with poemsperday, and part of what makes that interesting, is while not everyone is a hit out of the ballpark (or “evangeline”) that is precisely part of the freedom and creativity.
    e-book is fine with me.

  26. philsblog01 says:

    An inexpensive ebook would be great. Select maybe thirty or so of the ones you think are the best. Charge a few dollars, no more. I definitely would spring for that.

  27. I absolutely would be interested in buying a book if you publish it. You’re an inspired, terrific writer.

  28. liz2you says:

    Yes e books are great, but to give a book as a wrapped gift is also good. So far since following your blog (only recent) I have read 3 stories, and rate 2 out of three as tops! So how about a book of 100, or 200 of the best. Yes I’ll buy!
    Liz

  29. simonsylvester says:

    The ebook would be easy – the question is whether to print a paperback. My answer is yes. As a flash fiction writer and reader – and someone who’s been following 300 from very near the beginning – I’d really like the book on my shelves. Yes, they’re already online, but rereading means scrolling through, and I’d much rather have the book. With such a strong online following, I think you should try approaching a traditional publisher, too. I think 300 stories would stay truest to the original concept, but I guess you might want to substitute a couple of them. Good luck, anyway – I’d buy one.

  30. jane e says:

    After reading a handful of your stories, I want to read them all. My preference would be a book and I think you should include all of them. I love your stories!

  31. Aliloud says:

    I’m not sure you would have a market for a book when the stories are all available here. I would be more interested in seeing what happens next. Will some of the stories be developed into longer short stories? I would be interested in some sort of book that included the stories, your reflections on the process, and what you then developed from these stories and fragments.

    • jas55 says:

      I dont see why there wouldnt be market for a book or even book and e-book. Only limited people have read the stories on this webssite. Book/s would attract a wider range of clientale outside of this blogsite. Yes, some of the stories could be expanded.

      Jas

  32. simonsylvester says:

    Also – you could try Gumbo Press in the UK. They’re looking for flash fiction collections of at least 20,000 words.

  33. I’d buy it. I’ve enjoyed reading your stories though I haven’t read them all by any means. Sorry I can’t comment on the e-book or paperback – no real opinion on that as I’d consider buying it either way. Maybe e-book at least since it’s cheaper, convenient and doesn’t take up much space? If I were you though, I’d check publishing laws though. I only know about magazines but a lot of those here in the U.S. will consider the work published if it’s been placed in a blog.

  34. Personally I prefer actual books. I like the smell and feel of the paper. I like a book to be an actual page turner. I think it would be good to publish your best stories. Best can be ones that have a personal meaning for you or best can be what your audience preferred. You could have a selection of your original short stories but make them longer.

  35. b00kreader says:

    Okay so this is a little unrelated but…what about a story a day calendar thing? Its a few more than the 300 your blog will have posted so even your followers would get something new, just a thought.
    Another blog I follow took some of the ‘published’ short stories from the blog and connected them together in an interesting way to create a bigger new story. I loved it and bought it as an e book.
    Best of luck either way! P.S. I would buy a copy 🙂

  36. mindyreads says:

    I would definitely consider buying a copy. I would recommend both print and ebook editions to maximize your reader base, but I would rather a physical copy. I like Tom Cummings’ idea of a one-a-day format. If you wrote an extra 56 stories, you could publish right before New Year’s and market it as a reading goal collection. =)

  37. PKM says:

    I’ve read a handful of the stories, and I would love to have them in print so I can really pore over them (I’m not much for e-readers). I don’t know how many others feel the same way, but I would definitely buy a 300 Stories book.

  38. There are a few instances I can think of where someone has started off publishing some manner of art for free on one medium, and sold it on another. I think firstly of all the musicians who either started playing on street corners, or handed out demos for free, to later find themselves charging for CD’s, performances, or related merchandise.

    I don’t find the idea the least bit off-putting–that is, so long as you deliver stories that inspire and are thought-enriching, and I think you already have.

    Also, providing a different medium–whether electronic, or print, or (and I recommend it if you can pull it off) an audiobook–puts people in a different frame of mind when they approach the material. For example, nowadays, I think to myself “I wonder if that guy who’s working on 300 stories has kept up? Has he written anything new today yet?” This mentality that I’d have if I held a copy of your book in my hand would be more like, “I think I’m going to spend the afternoon reading this book.” So, there’s no waiting around for it to be finished.

    And I suppose also that “the medium (really is) the message.” (Marshall McLuhan)

    I intend to do this myself with the stories I’ve been working on. I only wish I had your resolve to do one each day, rather than sparsing my pattern out to 2-5 a week.

  39. It’d be great if you did a paperback version that consists of all of the stories!

Leave a Reply

