248. Life through a lens

Life through a lens always looks razor sharp. That’s why teens take selfies and watch concerts through their cell phones. It’s why I now ask my daughter to pose for me before she heads off to university.

 

cover

Read the rest of the tale and 100 more stories in 300 words or less in YOU’RE GETTING SLEEPY, THE HYPNOTIST’S APPRENTICE YAWNED.

Available at the Createspace Store, at amazon.com, amazon.co.uk or any other Amazon store in your territory.  E-book is also available.

Tagged , , , , ,

19 thoughts on “248. Life through a lens

  1. Beautifully written !!!

  2. liz2you says:

    So wise, so true. Keep on striving for that perfection, that’s all we can do! Liz

  3. elainecanham says:

    I look at my daughter and feel the same way. Thanks for the read

  4. araneus1 says:

    blurred world indeed

  5. jimmie g says:

    Oi. I just turned 43. This feeling is heavy within me. Thanks for bringing it into focus.

  6. I know just what you mean!

  7. Well writte and certainly tells a tale.

  8. philsblog01 says:

    Very nice, I like the personal perspective.

  9. I’m reminded of Marilyn Manson lyrics to the song, “Great Big White World.”

  10. W. K. Tucker says:

    A little different form your usual fare. If I may ask, are you speaking here as yourself or a character? I think yourself, but I could be wrong. In any case, very touching and bittersweet. Would that we all could always remain as idealistic as when we first wet our toes in the waters of life. But said life has a way of pulling us down until we can barely keep our heads above the water.

  11. Ruth2Day says:

    this is pretty deep. Phew, something to think about on a sunday evening 🙂

  12. jayne bowers says:

    This conjured up a memory of a photograph snapped of one of my daughters and her best friend on their first day of college. We lived a few blocks from the university so it’s not as if she would be leaving the nest. Still, it was a big day for her. That was 18 years ago, and when I think of her fresh, young, smiling face in the picture, I get a surreal feeling—so many experiences for her, so many new people in her life (hubby and five children), a short-lived teaching career, several moves around the country……….Honestly, I think her life is richer than she could have imagined on that August morning so many years ago.

  13. serenity says:

    so well written…reminds me of a pic of my nephew…

  14. clnapier says:

    I enjoyed the whole idea of what you did here. Sometimes life passes us by. Its nice to see how others reflect on daily issues/special occasions. Thank you for the kind words on my blog. I hope you continue writing as many love to read.

Leave a Reply

