274. How queer, the pink elephant thought

How queer, the pink elephant thought. And how thrilling, for it had never laid eyes on a human before.

Come and see, it yelled at its friends. Come and see this peculiar fellow on his barstool trying to swat me away.

 

cover

Read the rest of the tale and 100 more stories in 300 words or less in YOU’RE GETTING SLEEPY, THE HYPNOTIST’S APPRENTICE YAWNED.

Available at the Createspace Store, at amazon.com, amazon.co.uk or any other Amazon store in your territory.  E-book is also available.

Tagged , , , , , ,

21 thoughts on “274. How queer, the pink elephant thought

  1. Radhika says:

    Oh, so cute! Loved this! Very funny!

  2. russtowne says:

    I was about to sign off for the night when I saw you had posted something, and checked it out. As usual, I wasn’t disappointed. I’ll go to sleep with a smile on my face. Thank you for the fun story.
    Russ

  3. Reblogged this on Chris The Story Reading Ape's Meet New (to me) Authors Blog and commented:
    Here’s a nice Monday Funnies type story from Dieter Rogiers 😀

  4. Bryan Macias says:

    Reminded me of the drunk elephant scene in Dumbo. Very interesting story, love it!

  5. VERY nicely done Dieter! LOL!

  6. sandraconner says:

    This is ingenious! Most creative thing I’ve read in ages. Loved it.

  7. KiwiBee says:

    Hehehe I love this! It made me laugh 🙂 Great story!

  8. Mira Prabhu says:

    Dieter — love the story! The view from the other side…and strangely enough, I am madly in love with the local temple elephant (Ruku) who is about the most adorable creature in this region….i live in a south Indian temple town and she stands in the massive temple courtyard and greets visitors all day long — you put coins or notes in her upturned trunk, and she raises her trunk and taps you gently on the head in benediction, that hands the money over to her keeper — she is very well loved and taken care off…as I said, she has my heart…and i love all stories and songs about elephants ever since i met her….do you know the nursery rhyme, 6 elephants went out to play, out on a spider’s web one day…something like that!

  9. lorilschafer says:

    Many, many points for originality!

  10. CeeLee says:

    I enjoy reading stories with the author’s originality on clear display.
    Well done 🙂

  11. SiriusOryon says:

    Creative angle…love the ‘reverse perspective’…ingenious!

  12. A light hearted cheery one today. I’ll be expecting a dark one to hit tomorrow.

  13. Reminds me of the aliens spectating on the humans in Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse Five. Nice.

  14. rev99729 says:

    I’ve read a lot of those and am always pleasantly surprised. You’ve actually pushed me to wonder if I could ever do the same, one day. I’ve got to ask: what’s your inspiration? Where do you get your prompts from? They seem so distinct from one another, yet similar in some way. Hard to properly explain.

    • Thanks for the kind words. I get my inspiration from photos I see, articles I read, things I notice an experience on the street, in the pub, … in short: from life itself.

  15. Kate Loveton says:

    What a whimsical idea for a story. I like it!

  16. John says:

    Really like this one ! And, I’m sad that you’re almost to 300. 😦 Are you starting a new round of 300 when you’re done?

    • Certainly not starting another round of 300 any time soon. But I’ll keep writing flash fiction for sure and posting stories, but definitely not on a daily basis any more.

  17. […] -From 300 Stories, HOW QUEER, THE PINK ELEPHANT THOUGHT […]

Leave a Reply

