298. The radiation will kill you

“The radiation will kill you,” I tell her, but she doesn’t listen. She wants out. She’s tired of this life without sun. Without open space. Without joy.

It’s been five hundred and seven days since the event came without warning. Luckily we got underground in time. But we had no time to look back. No final glimpse of Earth as we knew it. That mushroom cloud and the fast approaching nuclear winds would be our last impression of home.

“You really want out, don’t you?”

 

cover

Read the rest of the tale and 100 more stories in 300 words or less in YOU’RE GETTING SLEEPY, THE HYPNOTIST’S APPRENTICE YAWNED.

Available at the Createspace Store, at amazon.com, amazon.co.uk or any other Amazon store in your territory.  E-book is also available.

Tagged , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “298. The radiation will kill you

  1. russtowne says:

    Haunting. Excellent! Great twist.
    Russ

  2. E A M Harris says:

    To get so much sadness into so little space. Well done.

  3. One of your best ones so far, loved it! Very Philip K. Dick.

  4. b00kreader says:

    Oh my goodness! I found this story even more touching when you let us know “she” was a dog than I did when I thought “she” was human

  5. ckdubb says:

    I’m not a dog person but I really like this one.

  6. lorilschafer says:

    One of my favorites so far – and that’s saying something.

  7. thewriteedge says:

    Very nice touch at the end! I’ll be sad when the last story comes up.

  8. You packed a lot into this one. I think the hairs on my neck stood up when “she” barked at the inivisible enemy.

  9. Kate Loveton says:

    Reblogged this on Odyssey of a Novice Writer and commented:
    This one is haunting. It stays with you.

  10. W. K. Tucker says:

    I loved this so much. Expected a woman, and SHE was a dog. In a way, this made it even more heartbreaking .

  11. W. K. Tucker says:

    Reblogged this on W. K. Tucker and commented:
    This story will stay with me for a long time.

  12. Julia Lund says:

    Enjoyed reading this on W.K.Tucker’s blog. Gentle, poignant and memorable.

  13. […] stories pit an unusual fact about polar bears against a post-apocalyptic friendship. Which of the two do you prefer? Let me know by filling in the poll […]

Leave a Reply

