264. How long has it been?

How long has it been? Twenty-two years? Twenty-three? I fell madly in love with you then. Wanted to be near you as often as possible. First just on the odd weekend. Then every week. Then almost every day.

How great they were, those first years. I was young. You, quite a bit older. But we clicked. Boy, did we click. The stories we could tell. The glorious adventures we went on. The trips to Spain, to Greece, to Tokyo. I still think of them as the best years of my life. Nothing could go wrong. We’d remain in that bubble of joy forever.

Sure, we’ve had some rough patches through the years. There were times I wanted to throw in the towel. But I didn’t. And you kept welcoming me back with open arms. We came through those bleak times. Together. Stronger.

So, what makes this different? What makes this so hard? It’s quite simple really. I’ve fallen out of love with you. Everything I adored about you, has evaporated, one quality at a time, until now all that is left, is a mere ghost of our affair.

Don’t think I have taken this decision lightly. I’ve had countless of sleepless nights over it. I have told myself that things will turn around for us, like they always have. But I no longer can believe in that lie.

That is why I am leaving you. I’m not trading you for another, don’t worry. I never could. But for us, this is the end of the line. You have broken my heart too often of late. It has destroyed me.

I leave without grudges. I wish you all the best. I hope, someday, you will win the league again. Or a European Cup. But I won’t be chanting from your terraces.

 

cover

Did you enjoy this story? Then why not try the 101 stories in 300 words or less in YOU’RE GETTING SLEEPY, THE HYPNOTIST’S APPRENTICE YAWNED.

Available at the Createspace Store, at amazon.com, amazon.co.uk or any other Amazon store in your territory.  E-book is also available.

Tagged , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “264. How long has it been?

  1. elainecanham says:

    Oh dear. Don’t worry, come September, you’ll be back.

  2. Bruce Goodman says:

    LOL Yes! I actually did laugh out loud!

  3. mudpilewood says:

    You got me. Loved it left me sitting here giggling like an idiot. Bob got up in disgust and walked away.

  4. Liverpool fan?……….. you want to try supporting a team that’s never won the league! 😉

  5. breezenthrough says:

    Why are you so good at writing…. 🙂

    • It takes a lot of hard work and years of trying 😉 And there’s still quite some room for improvement, in my opinion.

      • breezenthrough says:

        I think you are doing pretty well though! I am horrible at flash fiction. Nice job!

      • W. K. Tucker says:

        Does a writer ever think he/she has reached that magical peak? I think not. I would imagine, my hero, Stephen King, still reads his work and thinks, “I could have done better”. I believe you are a wonderful writer, but completely understand your feeling that you have room for improvement because, even though I know I have become a better writer over the years, I still look at my work and see all its inadequacies. We writers are never satisfied, are we. 🙂

      • Suffering, obviously. Of course, with a team like that, it’s only to be expected.

  6. zachshap says:

    This is a great piece! As someone who has just fallen in love with the game, this really encapsulates how I hope to never feel. Though I am not a Liverpool fan, know that I have the utmost respect for the franchise. I was hoping to see them take the league if my team could not. Anyway, looking forward to your next post. I would love to see something else about soccer! Maybe a short story about Zlatan…

  7. aliabbasali says:

    On the ongoing theme of being a Liverpool fan, you may find the link entertaining. It is SFW:

  8. zookyworld says:

    Ug, it can be tough being a fan!

  9. […] point of exquisite torture this year, beautifully rendered (although silent on the specifc team) here in […]

  10. liz2you says:

    Well written. Applaude! Liz

  11. Funny how lots of people seem to think I wrote this with Liverpool FC in mind. For the record, I didn’t. 😉

Leave a Reply

