107. The invaders will return to annihilate us

The invaders will return to annihilate us. Any moment now. They will come in their giant spaceships by the millions, toting superior weapons. We will lose. Life on our planet will cease to exist. And the handful that might survive will undoubtedly be enslaved by the aliens. Or used as guinea pigs in science experiments.

 

cover

Read the rest of the tale and 100 more stories in 300 words or less in YOU’RE GETTING SLEEPY, THE HYPNOTIST’S APPRENTICE YAWNED.

Available at the Createspace Store, at amazon.com, amazon.co.uk or any other Amazon store in your territory.  E-book is also available.

Tagged , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “107. The invaders will return to annihilate us

  1. Oh! The ending, of course, shook me up. How pitiless we have become, against each other and yet, we fear those extra terrestrials… forgetting that we may well be the very same for others.
    Great ending.

  2. Brieuse Bernhard Piers-Gûdmönd says:

    Bloomin’ heck. That was fantastic. I never saw the last word coming!

  3. dawnhosking says:

    Like the heat/pace of this. I wanted to know the outcome and get to the final line – eek. I like it.

  4. alooftsatsu says:

    The ending was unexpected, and brilliantly written. Awesome

  5. At LAST – Someone who tells it from a NON-HUMAN point of view – THANK YOU EARTHLING – your species may have some chance of becoming civilised sometime – TSRA (from the planet Blog)

  6. matthewexeter says:

    We had a black eyed child get on a bus using a bus pass and then wonder into town down here, I only found out other people always get them knocking on doors. Alien / demon hybrids using public transport, who would have thought it, I wonder if they have to pay insurance bills

  7. I didn’t see that punchline coming. Nice.

  8. Late Summer says:

    Brilliant. I never expected that ending, which of course I always love. You never fail to amaze me with your beautiful writing. You inspire me so much with your stories.

  9. Danny James says:

    i keep think that one day, just one day, I can figure out the ending before I read it. Failed again!

    DJ

  10. EagleAye says:

    Nice one. It seems the aliens are us. I like the switcheroo.

  11. S.R. Tooms says:

    Finally, getting to see some quality roles for the humans in these galactic battles!

  12. hakariconstant says:

    Totally reminds me of the plot of the recent Tom Cruise movie, Oblivion. It was a lame movie… hold on though, don’t misunderstand what I am saying! : P You totally could have written a way better script Dieter : ) Wouldn’t say that if I didn’t believe it.

    It would be interesting someday to read long books you should definitely write, instead of only Flash Fiction stories. You clearly have a wealth of creativity and ideas at your disposal, I totally think you could churn out some truly fascinating, attention-sustaining novels and some awesome anthology collections of longer short stories.

    I hope you will some day, and that your 300 Stories blog is just one step over a single year along a long literary journey through a very creatively lush and self-sustaining writing career!

    You have my support Dieter, I will buy every book you publish and celebrate your giftedness with you as I read, no matter the topics and contents 🙂

  13. b00kreader says:

    Perfect way to end it!

  14. trees7861 says:

    minor correction … TO slaughter instead of too … love this one. No small green people here. Just us.

Leave a Reply

